Prof. Emmo Meijer Re-elected as Chairman of the Executive Board

BERLIN, May 25 – EIT RawMaterials, a key European actor established in 2015 to advance Europe’s transition into a sustainable economy, has elected today four new members to its Executive Board and also re-elected four members during the General Assembly.

The 12 members of the EIT RawMaterials Executive Board bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the organisation, supporting EIT RawMaterials in fulfilling its mandate of securing the supply of critical raw materials to the European industry.

We welcome the new members of the Executive Board and thank our serving and re-elected members for their work on behalf of EIT RawMaterials. The insights and input of our board members allow us to continue to drive innovation across the entire value chain of raw materials. This is now more important than ever, considering how the recent crises have shown us how fragile Europe’s supply chains are.

Bernd Schäfer, CEO and Managing Director, EIT RawMaterials

He adds: “We need to boost recovery of raw materials from secondary sources, and we need to enable responsible mining in Europe. This requires diverse support from all regions of Europe, disciplines and backgrounds. We are happy that our Board represents this diversity to an even greater extent now.”

The newly elected members of the Executive Board of EIT RawMaterials are:

  • Erja Turunen, Executive Vice President, digital technologies, VTT
  • Maria Sunér, CEO, Svemin
  • Burcin Temel McKenna, Global Director of Green Cement Solutions Development, FLSmidth
  • David Peck, Associate Professor, TU Delft

Prof. Emmo Meijer, former R&D Director of DSM, Unilever and Friesland Campina and retired part-time professor at the Eindhoven University of Technology, was elected for one more year as Chairman of the Executive Board.

Also re-elected were Egbert Lox, President at ie-net ingenieursvereniging & Honorary Professor at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology; Carlos Rich, Strategy Officer and Director International Division, Atlantic Copper; and Jens Gutzmer, Director, Helmholtz Institute Freiberg for Resource Technology.

Continuing to serve their terms are Executive Board Members: Marion Lenoir, Head of Open Innovation Department, Eramet Ideas; Matt Kuppers, Founder & CEO, Startup Manufactory; Franz Friesenbichler, Owner & Managing Director, Findeco GmbH; Steve Sharpe, Independent Director, Pensana Plc.

The importance of raw materials and the need to identify, research, fund and implement innovative solutions along the value chain of raw materials is now top of mind in Europe. EIT RawMaterials continues to find and support key projects in this industry so vital to Europe’s economy. The entire Board of EIT RawMaterials looks forward to supporting the organisation and the broader community at this important time for EIT RawMaterials.

Emmo Meijer, Chairman of the Board, EIT RawMaterials

The election of the new executive board took place at the EIT RawMaterials General Assembly immediately following the fourth edition of the EIT RawMaterials Summit. The Summit brought over 550 leading voices from government, industry, research, academia, NGOs and investors to discuss urgent challenges and new opportunities in circularity, responsible sourcing, lightweighting, talent and skills, investment, recycling, and decarbonisation.

Press Release