Enhancing the skills of East and South-East Europe (ESEE) raw materials students towards the achievement of SDGs

The EnAct-SDGs 2nd Pilot summer school is a three-day hands-on online school on innovation and entrepreneurship for the raw materials industry. The programme is driven by the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and circular economy principles. Students will work with entrepreneurs and industry partners using design thinking and lean start-up methodologies to tackle challenges in the raw materials industry and generate new business ideas.

Participants will acquire new skills, learn to use new tools and develop a new mindset that will help to build up their careers as innovation professionals.

The school combines lectures and mentoring from renowned experts in the field and a hands-on approach where participants work autonomously in teams to understand the industrial challenge and prototype and validate business solutions.

The programme curriculum is provided by the University of Trento, Hub Innovazione Trentino (HIT), Freiberg University of Mining and Technology (TU Bergakademie Freiberg) and the University of Leoben (Montanuniversität Leoben).

Important information

  • 21-23 September 2021
  • Online
  • Three half-days comprising various online activities (lectures, interactive workshops, team mentorship, teamwork, socialising events) along with offline individual/group work in the afternoon with access to mentors

Eligibility criteria

The summer school is addressed primarily to students that have completed the fourth semester of their studies or new graduates, coming from the three ESEE universities that participate in the project:

  • NTUA National Technical University of Athens, School of Mining and Metallurgical Engineering, Greece
  • AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland
  • TUKE Technical University of Kosice, Slovakia

Students from universities in RIS countries* (and especially the ESEE region) are welcome to apply.

*Eligible countries: Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Romania

The application deadline is 31 August 2021. Follow the link below to learn more and apply.

Apply here